Accountability Chapter One: Daily Prayer and Devotion, Fitness & Healthy Meal Choices Pt. 2

Goal #1

Today’s Reading:

I started out reading the words of Jesus in Luke until I came across something I wanted to read more about…

And when the people were gathered thick together, he began to say, “This is an evil generation, they seek a sign, and there shall no sign be given to it, but the sign of Jonas the prophet. For as Jonas was a sign unto the Nin’e-vites, so shall also the Son of man be to this generation. ~Luke 11:29-30 KJV

I was then led to read the book of Jonah (only 4 short chapters). Basically a story of obedience. Jonah was instructed by God to speak to the Nin’e-vites and warn them that God was going to overthrow the city. Well, instead of obeying God, he hid until God found him and took him through a literal storm, trapping him in the belly of a whale until Jonah finally went and did what God wanted him to do. As it turns out, once Jonah finally did what he was supposed to do, the end result was not even as dire as he feared it would be. The people of the city fasted and repented and God spared them. The bible then ends the chapter with Jonah being angry at God, mostly because (in my own opinion) he thought the people would perish (this being the main reason he did not want to obey God in the first place) and when they did not he probably felt really stupid for not just being obedient from the beginning.

Many of us find ourselves in this situation, where we know we are called upon by God to do certain things, but because we are fearful of the outcome, we run from our calling. Yet once we’re finally obedient we find it would have been easier and the end result more favorable than we could have imagined if we would have just done what we were supposed to do in the first place. It goes back to yesterday’s scripture. Do not lean to your own understanding, but trust God. He knows what he is doing. I personally feel that God wants me to do something I have been meaning to do for a long time, something I actually promised God that I would do and certain situations have arisen in my life (storms) that won’t go away until it is done. From this, I’ve taken that I need to just do what I said I would, what I felt God leading me to do and trust God fully as I do it. The end result will be worth it.


 

Goal #2:

Uh yea…I failed at fitness today…super busy day. I’ll do better tomorrow.


 

Goal #3 

I ate pretty well today. I had some plaintain pancakes (no grains) and some spaghetti (some grains with hidden veggies mixed in the noodles) with ground turkey. I’m trying to maintain a balanced diet but I just can’t seem to eat enough throughout the day. Maybe it will help if I prepare everything in advance, but that requires some real self-discipline. We’ll see about that…lol

How did you do today?

Stay up to date on my progress.

Leave a comment